top of page
Search

Where the past begins...




Looking back over the past 12 months or so, I can honestly say that like so many people coming to terms with Covid19, I have found the year strange and unsettling. It has been a year of many challenges, lockdowns and letdowns, endings and beginnings. As an antidote to the isolation of painting alone in my studio, I have completed a couple of online painting courses with the 'St Ives School of Painting', and they have not disappointed me. I have been taken out of my comfort zone and in the process learned so much, forever changing how I work and my focus as an artist.


I am in the process of finding what I really want to express through my work. A recent course with Nicholas Wilton and Art2Life proved to be insightful and provided lots of opportunities to reflect on my journey as an artist and where I want to go. This has also caused some confusion and self-doubt. I have always been extremely self-critical and doubting of my ability, but I push on because I realise that this too is the way to finding oneself as an artist. Sometimes I feel despondent and frustrated when things don't go well and then suddenly it does. There's a moment of clarity and I feel lighter and more confident.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page