top of page
Search

A Mark on Time



I have always been captivated by the beauty of a line on paper. The first mark irreversibly changes the space. Where will it go next? What shape will it imagine? What will it define? I prefer to draw intuitively, capturing my interpretation of the scene before me quickly. Sometimes I don’t even look at the paper, preferring instead to let my eyes follow the contours and shapes. For me this is far more exciting than focussing on representational likeness.

My student life saw me exploring printmaking and in particular etching. I think it was the mark making and the unpredictability of it that appealed to me. Even now when I paint I enjoy scratching into the layers of paint; finding new marks, lines and texture that for me, capture the moment.

I find Indian ink particularly satisfying. It is rich, dark and cannot be erased. Complex and seductive. An indelible mark on time.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page